MOTOWN wins big at NAACP Theatre Awards

At the end of November, the Beverly Hills/Hollywood Branch of the NAACP put a spotlight on African American contributions in live theater throughout the Greater Los Angeles area. On Monday, November 21st, the winners of the 26th Annual NAACP Theatre Awards were announced, celebrating Black excellence on stage. Co-hosting the star-studded event were Wendy Raquel Robinson (The Game, The Steve Harvey Show) and Miguel Nunez, Jr. (Juwanna Mann, Tour of Duty).

Amongst the winners in the Equity Theatre Category was the Ebony Repertory Theatre Company

Members from the cast of MOTOWN THE MUSICAL portraying The Temptations.

About the NAACP Theatre Awards

The NAACP Theatre Awards is presented by the Beverly Hills/Hollywood NAACP Branch in partnership with the City of Los Angeles and Los Angeles City Council President/Councilmember District 10 Herb Wesson, Jr. and co-chaired by Byron K. Reed, Senior Vice President of Wells Fargo-West Region Community Relations and Jeffrey Rush of Morgan Stanley Wealth Management. The mission of the Theatre Awards is to entertain, educate, inspire the community and create diversity in the arts and entertainment industry. Ron Hasson is Branch President and Tia Boyd is the Executive Producer for the NAACP Theatre Awards Show. The prestigious star-studded gala is produced for the purpose of honoring thespians among the best in the field of entertainment. The branch also celebrates a four-day theatre festival, which provides a platform for thespians to express their craft and share their contributions with an audience of their peers, the community and other individuals who celebrate live theatre in Los Angeles.

Click here to learn more